Jingshan Park Beijing
Introduction of Jingshan Park Beijing
Jingshan Park, the highest point in Beijing City was built in 1179 during the Jin Dynasty and has a history of more than 800 years. This Park is located directly to the north of the Forbidden City's Shenwu Gate. Visitors will discover that Beihai Park is located directly to the west of Jingshan Park. Further north again from Jingshan Park, the Bell and Drum Towers are located at the top of Di An Men Street.
The Park is a pleasant place despite this gory history and is conveniently central. One of the best times to visit is at dusk, when the sun-sets over the red roofs of the Imperial Palace creating a gorgeous warm glow over the city.
Inside Jingshan Park, Jingshan Hill which rises to a height of 48 metres, and from its top visitors can oversight the entire city of Beijing. On the summit of Jingshan Hill five scenery viewing pavilions were built, and from these the visitor can clearly see the layout of the Forbidden City. By the north upper gate is the Beautiful View Pavilion (qiwanglou) where emperors would pay their respects at an altar to Confucius.
Jingshan Hill was built in 1420 during the Ming Dynasty and was initially called "Long Live Hill" and then later was named "Zhen Hill". In 1655 during the Qing Dynasty the name was changed to Jingshan Hill, the name by which it is known today. 5 pavilions with 5 bronze Buddhas were built on each peak in 1751 under emperor Qianlong, however 4 of the Buddhas were removed by the troops of the Allied Expeditionary Force in 1900. More information...
According to the legend, the four constellations The Green Dragon, the white tiger, the Scarlet Bird, and the Black Warrior, stand in their own respective territories. The northern part of the Forbidden City is just within the Black Warrior's territory, where a hill is indispensable. According to the principle of feng shui (Chinese geomancy), this hill would protect the Forbidden City from the evil spirits swooping in from the north. So the earth from the digging of the moat around the Forbidden City was piled up into a hill called Jingshan. Jingshan, first named "Longevity Hill", became the "Hill of Safeguard" for the Forbidden City.
Address: No. 1 Wenjin Street, Xicheng District